Protect (Tidbit Thursday 7/25/13)

Hello everyone. As a little bit of a forward I wanted to say that I don’t normally consider myself a fan of my own ideas, but I actually really liked this one. Unfortunately, due to some unforeseen circumstances the time I had to actually bring this idea to fruition was not great. I think someday I‘ll revisit this concept, most likely not the same setup or characters but…ya know what, why don’t you just read it for yourself.

As always, please feel free to share my blog with your friends and follow me on Twitter @cadottej. 

Protect

I’m a super human. I don’t know why I was blessed with my power. All I can say for sure is that as soon as I realized I was different, I became compelled. All great men must act when they have the means to do it. I’m a great man.

I always suspected I was endowed. There were little signs as long as I can remember. It’s the shivers though, that was the most noticeable. It was hard to hide them around my friends. Plus, having to explain why I could wear a wool sweater in the middle of summer. At least I tried to explain, but back then I didn’t know anything.

No fevers, no heat stroke, I didn’t even sweat until I discovered saunas. I was actually a little envious of my friends as they suffered their maladies one by one. For a few months every year I found myself separated from my loved ones. Not by distance of course, but by condition. I think they all secretly hated me. They loathed the heat, I longed for it.

Like all heroes, I had to leave home. There’s a clearly laid out path, and an exodus is on that list. I went to the desert. I had convinced myself that of all the places I could wander, there I would find warmth. I came across a small town there.

It was a quaint town. A few little shops, a few more bars. There weren’t many friends to be found. They all seemed to be preoccupied with figuring out why they had all ended up in their sandy purgatory. Thankfully there was at least one benevolent face. An old man who acted as both pharmacist and physician. I doubt he had the certification for either.

He was my mentor nonetheless. It was under his tutelage that I learned the truth behind my condition. He was the one who suggested that it wasn’t something to hate, but a blessing to be used. This is why I decided to head home.

I arrived in the middle of July. My city had changed in my absence. It had grown mean, every building and home seemed to shake in fear from the evil that had befallen them. They needed me. I had an obligation to these people and I would not fail. I was the only one who could do anything.

I remember the excitement as I tracked down my first target. I had followed her for over six blocks. Her legs were angry, her head hung low as if she was ashamed for her situation. Perhaps she should’ve been. She would be my example. She would be the one who would carry the tale of my power, of my crusade. Through her, the city will know salvation had come.

I feared that when the moment came, I would hesitate. But, it was as if my whole life had been preparing me for this moment. As if I was taking a breath, I sprung into action. My arms wrapped around her body and I pulled her in close. She struggled at first. I could feel the heat radiating off of her. For the first time, I felt the heat I had been denied as a younger man. Her screams for help rang out, yet no one came. It was a good thing, after a few seconds she no longer wanted help. Her muscles slacked as the relief came over her.

My plan worked out perfectly. She did indeed tell people of what had transpired. There were doubters at first. Even people who mistaken me for the evil in the city. But one by one I made them understand.

When I was born, I ran a temperature of 50 degrees. The doctors had no explanations. I should’ve been dead. Thankfully I did not. When the heat wave descended on my city, I was there, cooling the citizens, one hug at a time.

Leave a Reply

