I Do Poems, Sometimes

Image

Some of you may know that I didn’t start out writing fiction. The first few years of my journey into the world of writing was guided solely by poetry. I had aspirations of being the second coming of The Beat Generation, but for those of you lucky enough to see my earliest attempts, know that that was never going to happen.

I don’t write poetry much anymore. But every once in awhile I still dabble. One of my favorite things to do with poetry is to take the titles of some of my favorite songs and write poems around them. Since I’ve never been good with meter or rhyming, this is one of the things I can do that gives me a decent challenge without making me furious with myself.

This here is a quick poem I did, using titles from one of my favorite bands The Gaslight Anthem and from a side project of their lead singer called The Horrible Crowes,if you haven’t, check them out.  But without further ado….

I Listen Too Intently

I was the worst kind of Casanova, Baby!
A Ladykiller without a bed.
I welcomed you into my home
but made your past stay outside.

And we’d drive that shiny white family sedan
like it was a classic car with top stuck down.
I’d belt out Old White Lincoln while you hummed along
just as long as you leave my radio alone.

In the tail lights you glowed Red At Night,
you bathed in an aura, a lifetime in the making
but my favorite color is green,
so it’s time for me to go.

I pray you Stay Lucky,
and keep missing those bullets,

If we survive through the year,
Meet Me By The River’s Edge.

Leave a Reply

